Nearly two dozen government technology executives and organizations were honored by their peers in Washington, D.C., Thursday evening at a ceremony hosted at the Newseum by the Government Technology Research Alliance.

Ira Grossman, chief enterprise architect at the Federal Emergency Management Agency (pictured above, right), and Dr. Ron Ross, senior fellow for the National Institute of Standards and Technology (pictured above, left), were among those who earned special recognition at the GovTek Awards ceremony.

“IT is quite literally the foundation that allows the US Government to serve and protect the nation and its citizens,” said Parham Eftekhari, GTRA Co-founder and director of research.

“Unfortunately, IT leaders and their accomplishments are oftentimes the “unsung-heroes” of Washington. The GOVTek Awards Gala is GTRA’s way of recognizing these innovators and thanking them for their dedication and invaluable service to our country, war fighters and citizens.”

Winners were judged based on how their work has improved the quality of services delivered to citizens or their organization; increased efficiency or reduced waste; and supported government-wide initiatives set forth by the Office of Management and Budget, Congress and other regulatory agencies.

Winners for the individual categories are:

Excellence in Government Leadership: Dennis Wisnosky, Chief Architect, Chief Technical Officer, Business Mission Area, Department of Defense

Women in Government Technology: Colleen Coggins, CIO, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, Department of Transportation

Leadership in State/Local IT Modernization: Daniel J. Lohrmann, Chief Security Officer, State of Michigan

Excellence in Telework & Workforce Modernization: Sharon Wall, Regional Commissioner, FAS New England, General Services Administration

Infrastructure Modernization & Cloud Achievement: Dr. Arlen Ken Griffey, Chief, Center Facility Planning and Utilization Division, NASA

Government Innovator of the Year: Peter Tseronis, CTO, Department of Energy

Excellence in Transparency and Social Media: Michael Krieger, Deputy Chief Information Officer, G-6, U.S. Army

Excellence in Project Management: Dan Gahafer, Program Manager, Defense Information Systems Agency

Excellence in Cyber Security: Richard Kutter, Senior Electronics Engineer, U.S Air Force

Excellence in OMB’s 25-Point Federal IT Management Reform: Nitin Pradhan, CIO, Department of Transportation

Enterprise Architect Leader of the Year: Doreen Cox, Chief Enterprise Architect, Customs and Border Protection

GTRA Special Honor Award: Ira Grossman, Chief Enterprise Architect, Federal Emergency Management Agency

Best of GTRA: Dr. Ronald Ross, Senior Fellow, NIST

Women in Technology: Kay Sears, President, Intelsat General Corp.

Government Mobile APP of the Year: Recovery.Gov App (RATB)

Excellence in Education & Collaboration: NIEM

Best Security Solution: RSA NetWitness

Best Transparency Solution: Agiliance

Excellence in Government Service: SAIC

Best Cloud Solution: Apptis

Top Solution Providers to Watch for in 2012:

Best Mobile Solution: MaaS360 by Fiberlink

The finalists for the awards were announced in December.